From the Classroom to Consultancy #4

Barbara Oberc, StudentEvents’ Campus Ambassador at the University of Newcastle, is currently doing her final year project as a management consultant at a real firm!

This week, the results are in… did Barbara get her first choice company to work with over the next year? Read on to find out.

I received an e-mail bright and early on Monday morning that told me that I had… been assigned to one of the two clients I chose! When I found out, I set off for my first 2 hour lecture to meet my consultancy group for the first time.

After an hour long slideshow on Belbin and its team roles, we were finally split up into our groups and then sat through another half-hour’s worth of general client information. In the few minutes we did have, we managed to frantically exchange phone numbers, e-mails, Facebook details, and a (suggested) ‘social meeting’ for the next day.

The social meeting was supposed to be a team-bonding session to get to know everybody, where actual ‘project work’ wouldn’t be discussed. However, this proved rather difficult – we were all eager to get on with the work.

We did talk about our hobbies and interests over pints of beer at a bar on campus, and also about what to do next.

So far so good, until I contacted the module leader today about the next client presentation we need to make. A while ago I had arranged a little 3-day trip to London with my friends (nearly all coming from different ends of the country). We will be attending one friend’s important contest, and hanging out after a busy couple of months.

It was the one big thing I had to look forward to… until I found out that the big presentation to our clients was that very Monday! 

Despite it not being graded I can’t get out of it, meaning I will have to cut the trip short. If the universe could just throw me a bone here, I might at least be able to exchange my existing train ticket…

Barbara Oberc is a StudentEvents.com Campus Ambassador at the University of Newcastle in the UK! Each week she’s updating us on her progress through her epic final year management consultancy project!

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “From the Classroom to Consultancy #4

  1. […] at the University of Newcastle, told us if she got the client she wanted in this week’s “From the Classroom to Consultancy” […]

  2. […] From the Classroom to Consultancy #4 (studenteventsblog.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] From the Classroom to Consultancy #4 (studenteventsblog.wordpress.com) […]

  4. http://bestnaturalhealthsupplements.com says:

    Whoah this blog is fantastic i love reading your posts. Stay up the great work! You recognize, a lot of persons are hunting round for this info, you can aid them greatly.

Leave a Reply

